Masters in Christian Leadership Online About the Degree in Christian Leadership

About the Masters in Christian Leadership Online Degree

The Master of Arts in Christian Leadership (MACL) is an online graduate program designed to prepare students for ministry, both lay and vocational, in their churches. (The MACL is also offered on campus.)  Building upon the core elements of biblical and theological knowledge, the program focuses on developing skills for serving as a leader in Christian ministry, or in whatever setting God leads. Drawing from our specific focus on the Bible, graduates of the MACL program at HCU can responsibly apply biblical truths to contemporary ministry settings.

Our 40-58 credit hour MACL program is built upon a 15-hour core in Bible and Theology. Students will then take 12 hours of electives focused on Practical Theology (i.e., ministry classes). A particularly important aspect of the program is the opportunity to be discipled through the Spiritual Formation and Internship programs. For the remaining nine hours, you have the flexibility to choose from our offering of classes in our traditional areas of biblical studies, theology and practical ministry, or in our other MA program areas: biblical languages, apologetics, classics and philosophy.

Master of Arts in Christian Leadership Degree Plan

[PDF]Christian Leadership Degree Completion Plan.

Admission Requirements
  1. Official Transcripts – Official transcripts should be sent directly to from the college or university that awarded your bachelor’s degree. Transcripts from any additional coursework since that time should also be submitted.
  2. Personal Statement – As part of the application process, a statement of the student’s interest should be submitted. The statement should indicate the student’s faith in Jesus Christ and general agreement with the university’s preamble.
  3. Résumé/CV – Email a current resumé or CV to

Houston Christian University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate, baccalaureate, graduate and doctoral degrees.