A Piece of the Past Museum Essay Contest

HCU A Piece of the Past Essay Contest
“A Piece of the Past” Museum Essay Contest was inaugurated in 2010-2011 to encourage student research into the artifacts of the Dunham Bible Museum, the Museum of American Architecture and Decorative Arts, and the Museum of Southern History.

Funding for the contest has been generously provided by The Joella and Stewart Morris Foundation and Mr. Isaac Heimbinder.

2023 Piece of the Past Award Winners

Piece of the Past Winners with Dr. Doni Wilson, Lisa Simon, and Mrs. and Dr. Sloan

Grand Prize Winners

Josiah Brent Carr   – “Symon Patrick’s Paraphrase: A Forgotten Work of Majesty”

Catie Wuensche – “The Old Testament, Translated into Cherokee”

Southern History/American Architecture and Decorative Arts

1st Place – Cameron Morvant

2nd Place – Abgail Jones

Dunham Bible Museum

1st Place – Alyssa Jemela – “A Commitment to Scripture: The Wycliffe English Bible”

2nd Place – Justina Smith – “Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth”

Art Museums

1st Place – Jair Gregorio

2nd Place – Michael Johnican

Freshman/HCU Academy

1st Place – Louis Palacios – The Medical Steel Syringe

2nd Place – Chandler Daniel –

Honorable Mention

William Aguirre     Tahia Blackmon     Lema Boucheni     April F. Conner     Charles fletcher     Melly Flores                      Ethan Giwa-McNeil     Linnea Hagman     Tiffany Hinojosa     Abigail Jones     Collin Kulesha – Story of the Chinese Bible     Ryan Lee                                  Dario A. Pantoja     Caelan Quach     Drew Russell


View a list of prior winners