Sigma Pi Sigma Physics Honor Society at HCU

The Sigma Pi Sigma physics honor society was founded in 1921 and has been a part of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) since 1968. SPS is open to anyone with an interest in physics. SPS is open to non-physics majors but Sigma Pi Sigma candidates must also be members of SPS and have taken at least 3 physics courses that could count towards a major in physics. From the Sigma Pi Sigma Bulletin:

“Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics.” 

Sigma Pi Sigma chapters are restricted to colleges and universities of recognized standing that offer a strong physics major. The chapters receive into membership undergraduate and graduate students, faculty members, and a few others in closely related fields. Students elected to membership must attain high standards of general scholarship and outstanding achievement in physics. Election is a lifelong membership and includes a once-year complimentary membership in the Society of Physics Students (SPS).”

“Sigma Pi Sigma is an organization of the American Institute of Physics, and a member of the Association of College Honor Societies. Founded in 1921, there are more than 90,000 historical members.”


HCU inducted its first members in the Sigma Pi Sigma society in 1983. Since the reinstatement of Sigma Pi Sigma at HCU in 2010, member students have conducted experiments in biophysics and chemical physics and have contributed to manuscripts, posters and research proposals. The HCU chapter received a research award from the American Institute of Physics in 2011. Much of this work was presented at two Celebration of Scholarship Research Symposiums. The HCU chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma has continued to induct members yearly.

Contact Information

For more information contact our SPS president, Jonathan Nguyen at